A question about copy protection

dreamwatch

Syntax error
All I know about this is that greedy record industry types are adding this to most new CD's and it stops people from ripping it on their puters. But someone mentioned to me that it also prevents copying via minidisc - please, someone tell me this is bullshit? I know it's not the case in big markets like the US, but in Asia and much of Europe the minidisc is the main way most people listen to music on the move. I copy my new CD's to minidisc and listen to them on my way too and from work for months before I will listen to it on my stereo, so for all intents and purposes I'll have to stop buying CD's.

So come on you guys in the know, whats the beef? :)

Isn't the minidisc thing just a case of you playing it through the headphone jack and the MD recording it? One would think it would work in that case... I'm no expert though. *shrug*

It might mess with transferring it via the optical input. But I dont know. I should try one day and see what happens.

I chucked it in my cdrom last night and ripped it to Mp3 without a glitch. Nice copy protection eh?

Goreripper said:
I just got the new Morbid Angel as a promo. To stop people ripping it, the individual audio tracks (13 songs) are spread across 96 track numbers!
:lol: Bastards! There must be some promos out there without that though because I know theres full versions on the net in MP3 form. I think the cassette thing they did for the new Dimmu Borgir album is about the best copy protection there is these days :lol:

Goreripper said:
Trying to stop CD ripping is like trying to stop the tide coming in.

Yeah, made even more funny by the fact that their copy protection doesn't even force people to try to get around it. Just need to put it in the computer and rip away!

They must be getting better though - coz when copy protection came out I heard stories about it not playing in car stereo's and computers (no idea how true that was). So far DoD works fine....