Albums that influenced and inspired you

schenkadere

Obey my dog!
Apr 24, 2005
NY
www.soundclick.com
I curious to see what made everyone tick musically.

I started playing guitar around '78-'79...can't exactly remember. There were quite a few albums that inspired me to play and to grow as a young guitarist.

Obsession-UFO: Huge influence...Schenker's work here made me pick up the instrument.

Sleepwalk-Larry Carlton: The finest example of feel, finesse and dynamics I've ever heard. Probably the biggest influence on my own style.

Yellowjackets-self titled: Robben Ford's mix of blues and jazz had a huge impact on my playing.

Earthquake-Electric Sun: Uli Jon Roth's finest moment...some of the most original and technically interesting work still to this day. Throw in some Hendrix vibe and it's just awesome...every rock guitar player should know this album. His vocals are absolutely horrendous though, so beware! Yngwie picked up some tricks here!

No Parole from Rock n Roll-Alcatrazz: Yngwie's greatest work IMO. It was jaw dropping and unheard of at that time. I never embraced the neo-classical thing in my own playing, but still made me kick up my practice a notch. Anyone who says Yngwie doesn't play with feel has never heard this album. An absolute masterpiece.

Unsung Heros-Dixie Dregs: Steve Morse had such a great mix of so many styles on this album...broadened my horizons.

Victims of the Future-Gary Moore: His playing was so powerful, yet he still bangs out my favorite rock ballad solo in Empty Rooms.

Those are definitely my early influences...ranging from '78-'84.

Some later, more recent ones would be:

Resolution-Andy Timmons: Such great feel and that tone!!!

Erotic Cakes-Guthrie Govan: Sheer brilliance!..and again, tone!!!

Never Look Back-Blues Saraceno: Some of the best heavy blues and boogie playing ever. Another tone monster!

Look forward to reading some of yours.

Nice thread! There are a few albums that REALLY impacted me.