AXP SoftDrive GV - Marshall Guv'nor VST model

AXP

I've just released a plug-in that models the Marshall Guv'nor guitar distortion (a solid-state distortion stomp-box from the 90'es). It's designed to be very versatile and is applicable to much more than just a guitar.
To me the original Guv'nor was always something special, as it was the first distortion I've assembled myself from the schematic and also the first analog circuit I've modeled when I started learning the DSP stuff. Today I'm revisiting it with a much more sophisticated model and I hope you will all like it. You can find a much more detailed description on my site. It's free just as all my previous plug-ins (by the way, thanks for a good amount of traffic my site gets from a post over here!)

Homepage: AXP SoftDrive GV
Your comments and suggestions are welcome as usual.

x9eh.png

Quick sound sample:

Last edited by a moderator:
Very, very accurate!
Did a side by side with a C22 modded Guv'nor pedal, and it's right on. Great job modeling this!

See if you can hear the difference:
https://copy.com/IcP4sZz0aQFi

Alternates back and forth every bar. Settings almost identical (except lower bass knob on the pedal) into Lecab 2.

Thanks a lot guys!
Pickasso,
Your side by side comparison sounds great, my only concern is that the tracks were not completely muted, but rather soft-panned left and right. The difference is there, but it's so small I'm impressed myself :)

AXP, you are becoming more and more grater in my eyes. I love your stuff and way you think further than most VST sim modellers - adding features that take that sim further, like your charbooster (which should have it's own topic there, because I haven't found it yet).

I was interested to find sim that could be closer to marshal MG combos, that have kinda hi-gain overdrive with pretty tight drive. And Possibly your guvnor done it (haven't tried it myself yet tho).