Dark, heavy, prog metal

_JC_

[insert title here]
Aug 20, 2007
Hey. Ive been looking to get into prog metal, but I dont know where to start. I am looking for some prog metal that is really dark and really heavy. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Lol, I guess I was asking for that one one. I already know of Opeth, and they sound like they are good and talented, but I just cant seem to get into them. I cant put my finger on why, I mean I dont think they are a bad band...they are just not my thing. Maybe they are not heavy enough for me....I dunno. Thanks for the rec though :)

Not heavy enough? I didn't know prog metal could get much heavier.

Maybe you're looking for some tech/math metal, i.e. Meshuggah? Of course, there isn't much in the way of melody in that genre, from my understanding - mainly crazy rhythm work.

Not heavy enough? I didn't know prog metal could get much heavier.

Okay, I feared not. Like I said, I have very little experience with in the genre. I heard a small bit of it over my friends house (he was playing Dream Theater and Evergrey) and thought it sounded interesting, but it wasn't heavy enough for me to get into. Well, thanks anyways.

getting it in before anybody else does: Disillusion. Specifically Back to Times of Splendor and The Porter. If you enjoyed Opeth, you may also want to look into Farmakon. They're a bit more experimental than Opeth. Also Nahemah's The Second Philosophy.

getting it in before anybody else does: Disillusion. Specifically Back to Times of Splendor and The Porter. If you enjoyed Opeth, you may also want to look into Farmakon. They're a bit more experimental than Opeth. Also Nahemah's The Second Philosophy.