Growing out of metal?

I think if one listens to a variety of different musical forms, one never will be bored. Perhaps in ten or twenty years, most of us will become mildly obsessed with another musical genre, and listen to metal on the side. I know I like metal because of its depth; there are so many genres.

I am getting very very tired with straight ahead metal; anything too metal--anything at all derivative or non distinct. Nowdays the band has to offer something different for me to even listen to them twice.

I'll never stop listening to metal. People tend to listen to the music they grew up with all of their lives. I started listening to metal over 15 years ago, and I will definitely still be listening to metal 15 years from now.

I've been listening to metal for about 4-5 years now, extreme/underground metal for about 3 of those. I can't see metal completely leaving my life ever but it definitely won't play such an important part when I get further on in life. In the past year or so I've been making an effort to broaden my horizons and become more open-minded in what I listen to as I don't want to be restricted to metal all the time, although I think people's musical tastes tend to broaden naturally as they get older.

Im 32 and never grown out of it though i do listen to other types of music genre's because i was exposed to them when i used to work in record stores in my early 20's...

hmmmmmm,I'm 16 and quite sad for it.

metal...metal came 3 years ago,and stayed.....and how much corny is it,I've started listening to metal for the usual teeny rage.I guess,with me growing and stopping being the usual frustrated adolescent my music obsession will start to fade...

what I liked about metal the most is that it could be sth only mine,other ppl didn't understand....

well,my metal library has grown over the years,but it is vey hard for me to get new albums for place that I live in is god forsaken.