how do tune a 5 string bass ¯\(°_o)/¯

Oliver Lukacs

New Metal Member
Mar 25, 2009
Ok, this might sound stupid so bare with me, I am a bass noob. Anyway... I am a guitarist and don't have a clue about bass but I bought a 5 string bass because I have to lay down some bass lines.
My dilemma: my guitars are tuned to drop C. How do I tune so I won't have difficulties playing my parts?
I thought I tune from standard B-E-A etc. a half step up so it will be like C-F-A# etc. Does anyone have a better idea? Also if I do it this way, what gauge would you use? 40's, 45's or 50's?

Thanks

Yeah you should tune up. Tuning lower than G# and still having some string tension is impossible unless you use those special strings Warwick produces for tuning in F#. Those can probably get you down to E (an octave lower than the lowest E on a 4 string) but I don't see why anyone would ever want to tune that low.

What I do with my 5 string is tune the standard 4 strings do drop C and ignore the 5th string. (It's a perfect thumb rest when playing finger style.) Makes translating your guitar riffs to bass much easier. I only use the 5th string if I'm working on a song that I use my 7 string guitar on.

If you tune up like you said to C F A# you're going to clash with the guitar which is tuned to C G C.

Yeah, if you're a guitar player, make it easier for yourself and tune the top 4 to drop C and ignore the B string, or maybe tune it down to G or tune it up to C so it makes a little more sense when you want to use it. That's what I would do.

Ok, thanks for all your suggestions. I will probably tune half a step up and use 45's. I just wanted to make sure I am not doing anything stupid.
PhilR: could you be a be a bit more specific what you mean by "same notes as guitar"? Do you mean tune the lowest string to C, then G-C etc.? That is hard to do without getting ugly string buzz and it sounds like shit. Trust me, that was the first thing I tried as it would be the easiest for me as a guitarist.