How do you guys get other people to hear your music?

MegaMustaine

Apr 7, 2006
First of all, first post on here. Seems like a pretty cool forum! I've been playing music for a long time, but have finally developed enough singing skills to really pursue writing and recording my own songs.

As I mentioned, I'm pretty new to the singer/songwriter game. I have a couple recorded songs, and would love to get more people to listen.

Obviously your music can't suck and people have to want to hear it. I posted a song on facebook to fairly good reviews - 42 people liked it and 9 others shared it which accumulated a lot of additional likes. But beyond that, beyond family and friends, how do you guys get your music out there? Maybe it's because i don't have a band behind me so there's less people I know.

Just curious what you guys do to put yourselves out there.

Last edited by a moderator:
Ummmm ... not that it actually matters but this isn't your 1st post on this forum

I've seen your screen name a few times in threads here

to answer your question, nothing. If you don't believe me, look at the number of likes on my band's facebook page (and then hit "like" while you're there!)

Absolutely nothing. Skinny Viking's band has 119 likes, mine has 30 (just as an example of my own dogshit popularity). I don't even have a link to the Facebook page. I used to post a bit about it, but nobody cares. In my opinion, in 2012, it is better to come off as an unpopular-but-ready-for-unsolicited-fans band than a cares-about-hitting-2000-likes beggar.

The music does all the promotin' 8)