HOW good is the Apogee Duet?

guitarded88

Jan 25, 2009
Waterloo/Brampton, ON
So after weeks of researching for a new audio interface I seem to keep coming back to this one. I'm seduced by the numerous reviews raving about this piece. I care a lot about audio quality, even though I'm pretty new to home recording, and since I don't record drums it seems like the ideal choice. So is it worth potentially limiting myself to have a great pair of preamps and DA converters?

Then again, even though I'm only recording guitar, vocals and bass (seperately), it seems that reamping needs 3 inputs to be done properly (Unless I wanna ditch using the studio fredman mic technique). I have my Tascam US-122 still and I can aggregate the two devices on my mac, to give me two more inputs. But would sending the DI track through my US-122 butcher the tone and defeat the purpose when I reamp through my Duet.:err:

Another option I was considering is the Echo Audiofire 8. Apparently it has fantastic DA conversion but the pres aren't quite as good as the apogee. Could I get a relatively cheap outboard preamp that is around the same quality as the apogee?

Or am I to new to be spending this much on gear...:oops:

the one thing that discouraged me from buying the duet, is the lack of OUTPUTS. it only has 2 outs for your monitors. therefor, you can`t send a signal to be reamped, unless you forfeit using your monitors simultaneously.

if you use both interfaces setup as an aggragate device, you may have to play with the tracks, dragging them into place, because usually the interfaces will be a few samples apart.

my 2cents

the one thing that discouraged me from buying the duet, is the lack of OUTPUTS. it only has 2 outs for your monitors. therefor, you can`t send a signal to be reamped, unless you forfeit using your monitors simultaneously.