How Much You Bench?

Furious B

Aug 9, 2002
MPLS
So this next year I'm boing to try to bulk up a bit (current WEIGHT 160 lbs. ---> 185 WEIGHT target goial 2008 baby) and don't just want to put on beer gut. this thread is specifically targeted towards DOOMCIFER if he'd be so kind ot respond, but is also an open forum (ERIK STAY OUT).

what to eat? how much? what exercises to do? how many reps? can this be accomplished at home?

i'm a student of anatomy so i kind of have an understanding of how muscles work, their function, ect.

I'm thinking routine is going to be: every other day arms/upper body (curls, bench, tricep extensions/explosions or whatever they're called, forearm exercises), then every other day lower body (squats?).

thoughts? suggestions?

EDIT: Those figures are my weight, NOT how much I bench. i just want to put on more weioght in my arms and legs, specifically, but to keep in proportion I'll probably have3 to work on it all. I really don't care how much I bench. just thought it was a funny title.

my most ever bench was 225 lbs, back when i was a senior in high school and before shoulder surgery.

nowadays im more interested in cardio workouts

my most ever bench was 225 lbs, back when i was a senior in high school and before shoulder surgery.

nowadays im more interested in cardio workouts

I have pretty good cardio, but i look like an albino ethiopian when i run, so i need some more BEEF.

225 is pretty good.

if I do endurance training, 185 lbs x 16 lifts (which is also my weight)

if I do strenght training, 225 x 6 lifts

I still dont know my maximum bench weight.....

I think I maxed at about 235 my freshman year in college.