How to growl - STRAIGHT forward

Thomsonrf

Slayer101
Dec 17, 2003
UK Reading
www.chaosincarcerated.com
I read through a few previous threads and theres alot of people saying do it this way or do it that way, drink this or that and no proof that they can actually do it right. (no offense but theres more vocalists doing it wrong than right)

So i'll put some vocals clips on here for myself and Rich (the guy who owns this username) and explain how we both do it.

my clips are at;

http://s56.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=338R13A4Q2QLA07NI1A9CJZB84

http://s56.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=20PMZ0NRW46691P2V3OYOBAJV5

I'm no expert, and not that great... but if you think my fundimental technique sounds ok then read on!

the technique i use is very simple but DOES take practise... first off... its LOUD.. The mistake alot of people seem to be making is that they want to somehow sound good without making alot of noise.. but the truth it, your neighbores wil probably hear you if your doing it right.

The second mistake people make is assuming that growls will sound good out of your mouth... they dont.. even the best vocalists sound nothign the same without music behind them. So find a backing track, or simply join a tolarent band on vocals :)

So my basic tips are this... dont be afraid to make alot of noise / experiment / do it over some music

IF you shout at somebody when your angry, your voice naturally distorts... thats what you need to work on...

heres rich's vocals (he's better and knows more about this!)

http://www.myspace.com/richdrumsandvocalsessions

but again he uses his voice loud, over music.. and distorts his voice by pushing his vocalchords with a basic loud shout... then focused it with practise so sound how he wanted..

very simple! but requires work just like guitar or any instrument

Can't download yours.
Your friend reminds me of Behemoth and that's a COMPLIMENT!!
Fuckin' hell, I'll never learn it.