How to sing like Alexi?

Yngvai X

Dark Emperor
Jul 18, 2002
Woodland Park, NJ
www.myspace.com
Hi all,

First time posting here (I usually frequent the SyX forum the most). I've kind of been interested in learning how to sing (scream? hehe) like Alexi does. I'm not really a singer at all (Im a guitarist) but for some of the music I want to write I'd like to include some harsh vocals every now and then so I figured I'd learn how to do em myself. So if anyone knows the right "technique" how to do this (and NOT really fuck up your voice, although Im sure no matter what technique you use it'll eventually deteriorate), help would be appriciated :) thanks!

drink and smoke like an insane. that would help the most I think. :lol:

otherwhise, drinkin wouldn't really help you playing guitar. at least I have my probs with that....

nuff kiddin;
I once heard really it's important to drink a LOT!!!
not alc at all, but drink a lot. I think you dry out screamin pretty fast... I dunno....

I'm helpful, huh? :lol:
anyway, have fun and good luck!!

yoghurt.... Eat a fuckload of yoghurt.

Lubes up the throat, makes it slimey so you dont rip your vocal chords apart

Eat Glass.

Well that's what Howard Jones told us as a joke at the In Flames, Dark Tranquility, Killswitch Engage, and Sentenced concert I went to.

Oh and BodomiC not a "waooordghsgfdg" or whatever you wrote but in the way of the Alexi you gotta give a "YEEEEOOOOOOOOOOOWWWW"