I have a theory on Opeth...

I'm gonna have to agree with that. I am a musician, and can play along with much Opeth, but I think the thing that draws people is their amazing songwriting. Their music, while technical, isn't amazingly difficult to play, but to write like Opeth does takes a gift.

I can play drums and guitar and also a little piano (but rarely does anymore), but I don't really feel that some music is "musicians music". My biggest idols at the moment are Lee Hazlewood and John Barry and most of their stuff is pretty simple (especially John Barry). When I hear a song that I like I don't really care if the riffs are really easy. If I like it, I like it. As simple as that. It can of course be a benefit for the music if the musicians are good. For instance Metallica's songs could maybe have been better if Lars wasn't such a loser at drumming! As a drummer myself I can hear if the drummer sucks or not. I think it's important that the drummer play something that fits the song, no matter if it's difficult to play or not. I don't think all Metallica's songs cry out for the first rhythm a drummer ever learned, which is the thing Lars plays all the time.
But anyway, it's hard to say if I would have liked Opeth if I couldn't play guitar or drums. I was listening to stuff like Iron Maiden and Guns N' Roses when I started playing drums and guitar. When I still played drums more or less everyday I also listened to Joe Satriani and he has some of the easiest drums I've heard in rock and harder stuff, but the music is still good.

As much as you'd hate to admit it, not all amazing musicians are into Opeth. :rolleyes:

But yes I am :lol:

I don´t know if I would concider myself a musician, I have a guitar and I play it once in a while. And no I don´t think Opeth attracts more of people that play instruments, but I can understand how you could come to that conclusion cause there are alot of able musicians who frequent this MB. I don´t they sum up the fans in general...