i'm gonna learn to play the drums.

Erik

New Metal Member
Oct 10, 2001
southernmost voyage
i've ALWAYS wanted to learn to play the drums... i always played air drums along with music instead of air guitar and i think a lot about drum rhythms and shit when i listen to music, so i think i was actually made to be a drummer more than i was a guitarist (little known fact: when nasheim formed in 2001, i was the drummer) but it always seemed really expensive and difficult (as in it's tough to practice on an acoustic kit when you live in an apartment) but i've decided that drum machines are fucking BORING so i'm gonna learn now because if i want longer than this (i'm getting old man!) it might never happen. gonna get me a yamaha DTXPLORER kit (electronic) to learn on, but obviously when/if i ever record myself drumming it's gonna be on a real acoustic kit, but i don't feel the need to buy one for myself because it would be useless to me without anywhere to rehearse.

dtx%20001.jpg

wish me luck. this is gonna rokk. :kickass: anyone have any good tips for how to learn to be an ass kickin' drummer?

Derek Roddy's "How to become an ass kickin' drummer" video series is quite popular in DM circles, but I have a feeling that you don't want to learn brutal DM drumming (the videos cover the basics too, though, so it wouldn't hurt to check it out).

Edit:
Erik said:
i've ALWAYS wanted to learn to play the drums... i always played air drums along with music instead of air guitar and i think a lot about drum rhythms and shit when i listen to music, so i think i was actually made to be a drummer more than i was a guitarist

Ditto btw, I always air/knee drum when listening to music

brutal dm drumming is kinda boring, my favourite drummers that make me go "i wish i could do that" include carl-michael eide (in ved buens ende), the guy in helheim, adrian erlandsson on the first two at the gates, kvitrafn (in bak de syv fjell) etc

but thanx i might check it out

General Zod said:
Fixed: