Interview with Brent Smedley of Iced Earth

Status
Not open for further replies.

paranoidmexican009

Dirty Mexicano
Jun 13, 2007
Houston, TX
www.myspace.com
[Adam] First of all, I'd like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to answer my questions. It's an honor to have you answer them as I am a HUGE fan of Iced Earth and your drumming.
[Brent] Hi Adam,
First off let me say thank you for your time and this interview, it is
my honor to do it for you.

[A] Where are you from? What's the Metal Scene like there?

I am from Jacksonville, Florida in the U.S.A. The metal scene here
is o.k. could be a lot better, could be a lot worse. There are a lot of
bands and a lot of places to play, not really a tremendous amount of support from the fans.

[A] How long have you been in Iced Earth and any other bands?

I played in Iced Earth from 96-99 and now from October 2007 until forever. I have been playing in bands since 1986 from the age of 16.

[A] What is it like playing with Iced Earth?

It is totally awesome and amazing to play with Iced Earth. Iced Earth fans are truly the best fans in the world.

[A] How does playing in front of thousands of screaming fans feel?

It is totally awesome and amazing to play with Iced Earth. Iced
Earth fans are truly the best fans in the world.

[A] What are your major influences? Musical and otherwise.

My major influences musically are Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Pantera, Queensryche, AC/DC, Tony MacAlpine, and so many others. My main influence as far as drummers go would be my all time favorite Dean Castronova. Other influences in my life would be my mother, Grandparents, my brother, and my wife, also Jon Schaffer.

[A] When did you start playing drums and why?