Joining the Navy

Oct 17, 2005
Kinnear, Wyoming
Didn't do so well on the ASVAB test when I took it a few weeks ago. My math is a little bit rusty so I am studying that section. If I can score a 50 or higher then I can get in and do what I would like to do. Computer/IT work.

Your thoughts on this branch?

Air Force, my friend. Air Force all the way...trust me. From someone who has been around every single service branch, AF is the way to go.

If you really want to see what life is like on a carrier (not that every part of the Navy is just like that), check out this series that was on PBS which is now on Youtube. It's a ten part series, encompassing 10 hours. It's definitely not a recruitment video.

It shows the good and bad side, but it really hit home that I joined the right branch after I saw this. The whole officer/enlisted thing is a big thing in the Navy, whereas in the AF it's still a big deal but they still treat you like a human being. Also, many AF jobs are much more tactical, technical, and give you more of an opportunity if you decide to get out.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaiwCcWcIq8&feature=channel_page[/ame]

We had a good run on death threads, how about a series of *Joining the (whatever armed forces branch)* threads?

I'm lookin' at you Will Bozarth!

Yeah, Will. I remember you were somewhat serious about it. You definitely should watch this series.

I'll tell you this much:

If I weren't happily living in Italy I'd still be in the Air Force. I got out because I didn't like the way it was heading, but there are many days where I miss the hell out of it.

I was trying to decide Chris. Between AF and the Navy. I really want to get out and see the world. I will check out those videos.

DUDE, I'M TELLING YOU. Air Force is the way to go unless you want to be stuck on a boat in the middle of the ocean for 6 months.