Krankenstein + 5150 / V30 and G12T75

Radd

Self Portrait
Jul 19, 2005
NJ
www.soundclick.com
http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/21972-beginningofsong1.mp3

This is the same song I've been working off and on (mainly off) for the past 3 years and it's not even anything great. Its a rough mix. Not looking for critiquing just yet though I am curious what people think about the guitars and bass.
There is to much fizz going on still which I need to try to control and there may be to much gain. I'll probably reamp everything.

2 V30's and 2 G12T75's in an X pattern in a Stein cab. Quad tracked. 5150 to V30, stein to G12T75. Both 100% L and 100% R. AT4040 for all. There is a Weber Mass on the 5150 but not the stein. Maxon 808 and ISP Decimator. In addition, I decided to track all gtrs with an MXR Supercomp for the hell of it. Gtrs bussed to C4. I think I hear some pumping. Bass is Sansamp Bass Driver and DI.

Yikes, guitars are definitely WAY too fizzy, and perhaps the LDC is to blame in that respect - pretty cool though dude, I dig the symphonic black metal vibe of the first riff, though I might suggest that the second groovy riff is a bit "stock" (as Metallica would say). As for the tone, perhaps try a good ol' 57 rather than the AT4040? And I do hear a bit of pumping, but it's not that bad.

Yikes, guitars are definitely WAY too fizzy, and perhaps the LDC is to blame in that respect - pretty cool though dude, I dig the symphonic black metal vibe of the first riff, though I might suggest that the second groovy riff is a bit "stock" (as Metallica would say). As for the tone, perhaps try a good ol' 57 rather than the AT4040? And I do hear a bit of pumping, but it's not that bad.

I agree with everything you said MT. Guitars are way to fizzy. I attempted a quick low pass but I don't know what I'm doing when it comes to that still. I'll try the 57.