Low-carb diet suggestions

The Unavoidable

jättebög
May 27, 2008
Umeå, Sweden
Hey guys, over the last few months I've been cleaning up my act significantly (cutting out all junk foods, soda etc) and just been eating basic homecooking stuff like beans, rice, chicken, ground beef etc. As a result I've lost a lot of weight, and I would like to slim up even more. I've been looking into various ways of reducing carbs in my diet, and except cutting out rice/pasta/bread etc I really don't know where to start, or even what I would replace those things with at a meal.

Should I just double up on the meat? A pound of vegetables?

My current exercise routine consists of pretty much just 3-4 sets of 25 pushups, and about the same nr of stomach crunches and bicep curls at about 4-5 times per week.

Also, excuse any ignorance on my part since I'm pretty new to the whole diet/counting calories/carbs thing :)

Stick to what mother earth provides and you can't go wrong. Anything that is refined (like what you mentioned) bread, pasta cereals etc will contain carbs, glutens and other things that you body has a hard time dealing with.
Fresh meat both white and red, veges, fruit oats and nuts. If you have fruit be very careful, just because it is fruit, it does not mean it is ok to eat in quantity. Some sweet fruits like strawberries, oranges and grapes have more sugar content than some lollies. Stick to apples and bananas and you will be fine.
I would recommend something like this:
Breakfast:
3/4 cup of cooked porridge

Morning tea:
One piece of fruit.

Lunch:
Either a lean meat and salad wrap ala subway
or 1/2 cup of cooked veges 1/2 cup of cooked rice 200 grams of lean red or white meat.

Afternoon tea:
Low fat yogurt and fruit or
Rice wafers or
nuts and seeds

Dinner,
lean meat veges and potato. you need some carbs to help build muscle mass. If you strip to many carbs from your diet you will loss weight but you will find it hard to put on muscle mass.