Metal Clubs and Rock Nights

AlexGuinness

The Collector
Oct 14, 2004
Scotland.
www.facebook.com
Do you guys attend these, if so do you hear things like Opeth? If not, what sort of things are played?

One of the reasons that I don't understand people only being able to discover new bands by downloading, is that over the years I have been exposed to all sorts of new bands by going to club nights, supporting the local scene, etc.

I have been running rock nights in my locality for the last 4 years or so and have been slipping the odd personal favourite tracks amongst the requests for all of it. I am also involved in experimenting with a larger scale Rock Night in the town's main venue later this month.

This past Saturday we had a packed out venue again and I had quite a few requests for Opeth (including from the drummer for Criminal and Extreme Noise Terror). Some of this maybe down to the fact that I was wearing an Opeth shirt at the time, but it got me thinking... There was one insistant person that HAD to hear The Leper Affinity, so he got it.

I half expect there to be several requests this coming week for Nuclear Assault's "Hang The Pope".

I think there must be a rock night in just about every town in England (although I am told that Bedford is beyond help by one of my best friends). They are a great way to get out and hear old favourites whilst being exposed to new music.

Most of the ones in my town have failed due to lack of interest, but mine is still going strong into its fifth year. Do you think that this kind of thing will be a casualty of the internet generation being reluctant to leave their homes?

I would welcome opinions, I am a fan and supporter of other nights as well as running one...

Cheers,

A.