Mikael's Jazz Influence

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shemsu'Hor

May 9, 2007
WV, USA
Hello folks, I should probably start by introducing myself. My name is Michael(<--spelled the lamer way), I love all of Opeth's work(definitely not a giddy little fanboy though,lol). Anyway, I know Mikael incorporates some jazz into his guitar playing, and I was wondering if anyone knew just how deep into jazz his interest goes and what musicians in particular he likes(and of course you can tell me yourself if you see this Mike :cool: ). I'm a guitarist myself and am trying to explore some styles of playing other than metal.

Much appreciated,
Mike

i love how this other guy would rather spend his time writing a rude remark instead of answering your question since he so obviously knows the answer to.....anyways...i have wondered about the structure and simply his note choice...and im really not sure if he has any large jazz influences (although he may, im not really sure). but i think part of his brilliance is his chromatic use of notes that flow so well and then of course his chord choices are unique but tht can just be someone thinking outside of the box and experimenting with chords outside of major and minor (unlike many guitar players). the jazz is there but its deeply ingrained and may just be his unique thought process. but then again i may be completely wrong! i have definitely wondered myself though...