Name some classic metal bands for me.

Jun 10, 2002
Visit site
Not any cheesey hair bands.

Nothing like Led Zeppelin, or Pink Floyd. I know that's not metal, but I thought that some people would say that...and I'm already into that.

I grew up listening to that, and when I was around 9 I listened to Metallica and Alice in Chains with my sister, so I missed out on all the classic metal bands.

I'm just getting into Black Sabbath, if they count. I'm checking out Iron Maiden and Judas Preist right now. I don't like Slayer.

So...just name some classic metal bands for me, if you don't mind. Thanks.

You dont like slayer- for shame- well anyway how about Celtic Frost- Hellhammer, Death, Testament who are still kicking ass, Atheist, Forbidden, Morbid Angel, Voivod, Queensryche, Yngwie, Iron Maiden, Dark Angel, Exodus, Cynic, Megadeth- these are just bands from the 80's and the list goes on and on - try em all- it really depends on what style you prefer, but I like to try all metal styles- and all styles of music- who knows maybe you will end up digging Slayer- especially if you see one of their concerts

Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax, Megadeth, Kreator, Motorhead, Exodus, Sodom that's all of the old school metal bands that i can think of right now

Classic Metal typically revolves around the New Wave of British Heavy Metal (and the bands that just preceded the era):

Iron Maiden - arguably the greatest metal band ever
Black Sabbath
Judas Priest
Deep Purple
Venom
Motorhead
Def Leppard
Budgie
Diamond Head
Rainbow
Thin Lizzy
Gary Moore

Then there's the bands from the euro-continent: Mercyful Fate, Scorpions, UDO, Michael Schenker Group etc.

Anything from the Bay Area thrash era (or indeed ANY metal category today) was spawned from the above in some shape or form, so probably doesn't count as "classic" metal (especially since you said that you already know Metallica etc).

Hope this helps. :)