new to the board

ricochet

ghetto philosopher
Jul 7, 2001
behind closed eyelids
Visit site
Hello,

I have been coming to this board for several months now. I just haven't posted any messages until this point. Anyway, it is obvious why I'm here. I just thought I'd introduce myself to the board. I am 17 years old and first heard Opeth in late '99 while looking for something "different" on mIRC. It's safe to say that I found something different. The first songs that I heard were from Morningrise. I downloaded many different bands of the same or similar style, but I hadn't really gotten into the death metal vocals yet so I was still turned off by a lot of the music. The first Opeth song I heard was To Bid You Farewell, and I thought it was brilliant. I kept listening and very quickly became obsessed. At the same time, my older brother gave me an Iron Maiden tribute album that has an Opeth cover of "Remember Tomorrow". I really liked their cover of the song, and knew that I had found something special. I found this board through the Opeth website and started reading the messages and developed a kinship with the people here. I felt that I had a lot in common with many of you based on your descriptions of yourselves, ideas, and views. This is definitely the most intelligent forum I have ever been on, and there are a lot of interesting and informative topics discussed. Anyway, it's kind of hard to think right now because of the happenings of today. I don't know why I chose today to make my first post, but I did. I will become more familiar with everyone, and you will have a chance to get to know me more. I think that I will learn a lot from the people here or open my eyes a little more to certain issues. Ok, well I am gonna go watch the news some more now. Nice to officially meet all of you.

One of the more sincere.