NS-10 problem...

Aaron Smith

Envisage Audio
Feb 10, 2006
Seattle, WA
Alright, so I got my NS-10s a few weeks ago and haven't had a chance to try them until today, until my power amp showed up. I got an older Crown D-75. I also just got a Presonus Central Station and hooked it all up today, with my KRK RP-8s as monitor out "A" and the NS-10s as monitor out "B".
The RP-8s sound the same as ever, no issues at all. I switched to the NS-10s, and even though I've never used NS-10s before, I knew they weren't supposed to sound like THAT. The woofers sound fine, but basically, I quickly realized that the tweeters weren't working at all. And I don't mean that they sound broken and are attempting to produce high frequencies or anything...I mean, they are completely silent. I sent a message to the guy I bought them from, asking if there might be any chance that the tweeters were disconnected for some reason, and he said that there is no possible way that they are disconnected, and that the monitors have always worked great for him, with many different amps. I'm going to hook the monitors up to a radio receiver or something to verify that the tweeters do in fact work...but assuming that the NS-10s are completely fine, why else might I be getting no signal to the tweeters? The most likely culprit would be the power amp, but I really don't know power amps that well to say "Oh, I know what's happening"...so I'm hoping that someone here may be able to offer me some insight. Is it possible that there is some fuse blown in the power amp, that's responsible for high frequencies? ...I really have no idea!