Opeth's Technicality

I don't think being self-taught makes you less capable of writing complex music...

I don't think he wanted to say that..he meant the same thing you did.

They are techincally very strong, but not the strongest (as the already cited Cynic could be) but, most important thing, they know a lot about theory and this is a great advantage; someone could be the fastest guitar player on the earth but without knowledge 'bout what you want exactly to do it's quite unuseful..

I honestly don't think any of Opeth's music is technical *been playing guitar 14 years; I have a right to this opinion--hopefully fanboys don't get their panties in a bunch* but that doesn't make them less than great.

What the hell are you talking about? And what makes an arpeggio techincal?

Also, chords is the correct term. Not 'accords'.

I assume that he refers to someone playing out of main key (don't really know what it's called in english). For example if a song is written in A major and suddenly the song jumps into a D# minor arpeggio, then it would probably sound pretty disharmonious (though not necessarily, the music could just be modulating).
But I, as I said, don't know what the correct musical terms in english would be, so it might be a little hard to explain.

Also an arpeggio in itself is not technical at all, however a lot of solos (especially sweep-picking) involves a fast progression over arpeggios wich can be technically hard to play.