Profire 2626 & Reamp V.2 box, why is it squealing?

J.DavisNJ

\m/
Nov 8, 2005
NJ, U.S.A.
Hey dudes,

I finally got a Cuniberti Reamp V.2 :kickass:

I have it all hooked up, got the DIs working through it, but when I turn the volume up on the amp to justttt crack it open, it has a squeal to it. Not quite a guitar feedback squeal but a constant tone and a hollow, almost "blowing through a straw" sound lol.

Am I doing something wrong?

I have it hooked up to output 5 of the Profire, outputs 5 and 6 assigned to mixer out in the 2626 routing software.

What gives?

I have it in a regular audio track. The DI plays through the amp, but with the super annoying squeal as an overtone. :lol:

I'm a newb at this, so it's possible that it's something really simple.

Joe

Also, I've noticed that I need to turn the gain up on my amp significantly to match the appropriate tone. Usually I'm quite happy with my passive pickups with the gain on 4. I'm using Jeff's Rose of Sharyn DIs. Amp is a Soldano Avenger.

thanks

Joe

Yep, tried flipping the switch and playing with the dials. Switch seems to make no difference, but if the dial is too low the tone is super weak.

I'm pretty sure all of the line outputs on the 2626 are balanced.

-Joe

For cable I'm using a Mogami 2549 with Neutrik jacks. Balance cable as well! For the other cable I'm using a guitar cable. Could this be it?

-Joe

Actually, come to think of it, The exact same thing happened me if I cranked the gain (or the mid or treble I think) I just made sure I didn't turn the gain up too much. I was using a 2626 too, but a home made re amp box ...

Actually, come to think of it, The exact same thing happened me if I cranked the gain (or the mid or treble I think) I just made sure I didn't turn the gain up too much. I was using a 2626 too, but a home made re amp box ...

Yeah, but that doesn't make sense, eh? I'm not able to use too much gain on my amp, what the balls?

Joe