Questions for those of you who make money!

Tallicalad

Tallicalad
Nov 27, 2008
Leicester/Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hello,

First of all let me introduce myself, I'm Harry (Aka Saxon), I'm 22 and I'm currently studying Music Production at University in Newcastle (2nd Year) whilst working part time as a Learning Support Assistant (Helping disabled kids).

As part of my course this year I have to undertake a Music Business module in which I have to come up with some sort of business plan. Considering I'm not exactly versed in business I'm here to ask those of you who make money recording, mixing etc how you've done it! So, if you wouldn't mind spending some time giving me some advice, it's be much appreciated :)

Essentially I have two ideas,

1) Start an online mixing, mastering website. (Example samples of my work, http://www.mediafire.com/?t3b4cs596bxq4)

2) My band, making money from merchandise, CDs, online media etc

Or, combine the two.

The questions I'd like to ask are,

1) How did you go about getting started, capital, equipment?

2) How did you go about getting work, was it regular, if so how did you go about it? (successful advertising?)

3) Pitfalls, dangers?

4) Overheads? (Inc anything you didn't expect in the beginning)

5) What do you believe makes your business successful?

6) What do you believe is the future for the market your in? (Less work, more work)

7) Is there anything else you can think of that I might not have included?

8) What is the best way for someone like me to get in to the market, how feasible etc?

Hello,

First of all let me introduce myself, I'm Harry (Aka Saxon), I'm 22 and I'm currently studying Music Production at University in Newcastle (2nd Year) whilst working part time as a Learning Support Assistant (Helping disabled kids).