Rate following axemen

dargormudshark said:
Lifeson has great chords but man do his solos suck! I don't know what to give him.

His solos suck? Not Hardly. If you're looking for superior complexity and mastery of the instrument, he certainly does not possess that. Regardless, he is a very emotional guitarist and better than what people give him credit for. I assume that the only good guitarist in your book are the ones that do nothing but shred.
I was that way when I started playing(and still listen to them, shredding is a great technique to master), collecting inspiration from top notch shredders such as Malmsteen and Satriani, then to broaden my style I gave guys such as Mark Knopfler and Lifeson more room, and I found just as much inspiration from them as I did the others.

To each his own I guess. :rolleyes:

5-excellent
4-very good
3-good
2-good enough
1-not so good

Alex Lifeson-4
Al Pitrelli-3
Marty Friedman-4.5
Diamond Darrel-2.5
Timo Tolkki (Stratovarius)-3
Kirk Hammet-2.5
Glenn Tipton (Judas Priest)-3.5
John Petrucci-4.5
Michael Romeo-4.5
Joe Satriani-4.5
Steve Vai-4
Yngwie Malmsteen-4
Paul Gilbert-4
Jason Becker-5(In my opinion no one touches him, including the fellows on the list, I'd like to give him more than 5, I could really, none of those guys come close to shredding like he did)
Carl August Tidemann-4.5

Guitarmaster said:
Regardless, he is a very emotional guitarist and better than what people give him credit for.
If he weren't in a band with the best bassist and drummer in rock, he would be an acknowledged master of his instrument... he tends to be underrated because of that.

Guitarmaster said:
His solos suck? Not Hardly. If you're looking for superior complexity and mastery of the instrument, he certainly does not possess that. Regardless, he is a very emotional guitarist and better than what people give him credit for. I assume that the only good guitarist in your book are the ones that do nothing but shred.