Royal Carnage looking for site re-design and webmaster

JayKeeley

Be still, O wand'rer!
Apr 26, 2002
www.royalcarnage.com
Hey everyone,

So here we are in 2005 and RC is almost 2 years old since launch. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is much bigger than anyone could have anticipated and now needs some tender lovin' care...

As the staff have been discussing behind the scenes, we're essentially looking to rebuild the site. Since there is so much existing content, we want to move away from the standard HTML & frames etc, and migrate everything over to a better architecture. I am no developer, but I've tried the best I could with my limited knowledge of Dreamweaver etc. If I had the time, I would rebuild this myself, but alas, family matters take precedence.

Anyway, here are some examples of what we're looking for:

- New look & feel structure: removal of all frames and implementing style sheets or templates. Graphics, logo, color schemes, review format etc can all remain consistent.

- Database architecture: storing content in database & templates, search functionality - whether this be through ASP, JSP, PHP, or TMA (Too Many Acronyms) :loco:

- Migrating all existing content into new site design: perhaps some scripting tool can accomplish this? Cutting and pasting would probably take 3 years. :tickled:

- Centralized content management: template design, remote publishing/uploading. This is a 'nice to have' requirement.

The last requirement is also dependent on the availability of a new webmaster. Someone would join the staff to help run the site, and the writers would therefore send she/he all their content for uploading, so remote publishing wouldn't actually be necessary. All writers would be expected to edit their own content before submission, so it would just require formatting and uploading.

The servers exist, the domain name will be kept, all maintenance costs are covered - I can provide the sandbox for someone else to play in.