Speaking English PROPERLY or Die

Jurched

Ask&YoullBeSorry
May 10, 2005
Calais, Maine (not France)
To take your minds off the horrific destruction of our great historic seaport and annual winter Tit-fest, here's a little debate I've witness via email...

I don't want to extend an argument too much, but I felt I had to say something about the recent grammar debates. (Hey, I'm an English student -- it's a professional vice.)

It's certainly quite rude to make fun of people using improper English, especially when it's clear that some of that satire is racially or culturally based. It's even *ruder* to say that an entire people has neither culture, heritage, nor language.

Numba one, it is rude, but its also fuckin entertaining. And numba two, there are literally hundreds of entire peoples without culture. What party-pooper. This bitch needs six beers, three ecstasy chasers, and five horny Arab barflies.

That said, I think it's fair to expect people writing in a public medium, which this listserv is, to make an effort to communicate clearly, whether they're native speakers or not. Some of the emails that go out to this list serv are so garbled by the lack of grammar or punctuation that they're nearly incomprehensible. It doesn't matter what field people are in or where they're from; we're dealing with a group of people who are studying or teaching in a top university, so there is no excuse for not even trying to be clear.

BOOOOORING! Wake me when its over, bitch!

I don't write this because I have some sort of personal stake in this...

yes you do, you just said so.

- I'm neither American nor a native English speaker, so my linguistic or national heritage is not at question.