Stagnation and laziness in brutal death

SADUDE

lunatic of god's creation
Mar 20, 2002
I am not going on an elitist rant. I just wanted to make an example that this music is becoming very tired. The majority of Brutal Death bands are playing outdated music. Oh btw I should have included bass in my rampage as well. The guitar is a variably that gives the music identity for the most part. That is sad because I am a bassist and would like to see some decent work done in certain areas of metal. But the drummers are just programmed space horders so it is probably near impossible. Look at the bassist from cryptopsy. He is fairly talented but it is hard for him to have the time to come through. SOme times when he does he is sort of trampled on.

There are less than 10 bands practically carrying this genre on their back: Spawn of Possesssion, Cryptopsy, Suffocation, Aeon, Nile. Aeon is a unique combination of old styles. They prove you don't need to play at the speed of light to be heavier than everyone ele. Suffocation do that as well, they have rests in their music which gives space for the music to breathe. Nile has the Egyptian samples. Cryptopsy has a band where just about every member is relevant.
I am just really tired of the guitarist being the band in most BD. If the vocals are that much of an inconvenience which it seems to me they have become, then they can easily be omitted. Maybe these drummers and vocalists just are too lazy to try to do something that isn't a cliche. I can sympathesize with bassists, because it really isn't their fault most of the time that they have no room to do anything. But you have a lot of bassists worth nothing who just get in a a band because they aren't expected to do anything, can't do anything, and got in just because they are friends with the band.