this band didnt pay me

topsoul182

Dec 18, 2009
when i do a session ill have the band pay half the first day of tracking and half the last day of tracking. They payed the first day but not the last day. they said that they would come pick up a cd and bring the money than.

i typically like to send them preview mixes to make sure they like it, but i dont want to send them anything that they could keep without paying me.

is there a software that either shoots random static(kinda like a watermark on a picture) or is there a way to email the song without allowing them to download it?

Just don't give them anything. Trust me on this (I've had lots of these types of experiences over the course of my career so far).

If you give the band anything before being paid, it takes away their motivation/urgency to come pick up their CD and pay you. Just be patient and you will most likely have an easier time being paid.

My policy these days is to never release any materials without full payment. Almost EVERY time I have made an exception to this, it has made it more difficult to get paid.

Beeper, for sure.

I pick and choose whom to trust in this regard. If I have a prior rapport with a band, and they've proven themselves trustworthy I'll let stuff go without watermarks, if it helps them move their schedule along, trusting that they will get the payment over as soon as possible. Once that trust is broken, then we devolve back to watermarking.

Beeper, for sure.

I pick and choose whom to trust in this regard. If I have a prior rapport with a band, and they've proven themselves trustworthy I'll let stuff go without watermarks, if it helps them move their schedule along, trusting that they will get the payment over as soon as possible. Once that trust is broken, then we devolve back to watermarking.

yeeeeep

paid in full on the first day???
holy shit you should try working for a label.
they take FOREVER to pay you. (bout 3 months normally)