Torn over drum mic setup options…

Wisheraser

Sep 11, 2009
SK, Canada
So I’m finally about ready to start recording both of my band’s cds, but I’m starting to second guess my setup plans. This is my first time recording real drums, so I’m not 100% positive what the best option is and was hoping to get some opinions.

The room is a decent size (roughly 20’ x 26’ x 7’) and fairly extensively treated with absorption and diffusion. Pics in this thread: http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/...s-your-studio-2011-room-racks-backline-8.html

The original plan was:
Snare – Granelli 57 -> API 3124
Rack toms – Audix D2s -> API 3124
Floor tom – Audix D4 -> API 3124
Kick – Audix D6 -> Chandler Germanium
L R Spaced pair OHs – KM184s -> SCA A12s
Mono OH – SM81 – SCA N72
Hi hat – SM7b –> FMR RNP
Ride – SM81 -> FMR RNP

All going to my Fireface 800

Now I’m starting to doubt the need for the Mono OH. The original plan was to mic up the cymbals in pairs, but I’m starting to think the 184s may be enough for OH duty and I could use that spare input as a side or bottom snare mic, or throw up a mono room mic. Any thoughts?

If it is a choice between an extra overhead or a bottom snare mic, I would go with the extra overhead, as it is so common to augment the snare with a sample, if not completely replace it. IMO It is way easier to fix shitty drums than shitty overheads, so it would be nice to have that center OH safety net for yourself. But if you are tracking two whole albums with the setup you choose, then I would say try both and figure out what is going to work best in the room/on the set. Good luck.

I'd ditch the hat and ride mic, and add a bottom snare mic and a second room mic (so you can do wide stereo room mics rather than a mono room - VERY useful for big drum sounds). Even if you're sample-replacing, having a real bottom snare mic goes a long way towards retaining a somewhat natural snare sound.