tuning down to c

commandante

Zealot
Apr 23, 2002
As many of my fav. bands use this tuning, I want to tune my guitar down to C, but as I am very new to guitar(I've been playing since 4 months), I have problems with it. First, I know I have to get a new set of strings and I think 11s. So how to ask for them in the shop? Should I just walk in and say I want a new set of strings, 11s? :)

Then my second problem is I dont have a tuner. I use the computer program Guitar FX-Box 2.6's tuner to tune my guitar. It allows to tune to alternate tunings, but you have to select the notes of strings seperately.
C,F,A#,D#,G,C(btw which c is 6th string) now these should be the notes. But in the drop-down menus of this program, there are extra combinations with numbers like C1, C2, A#1. What should I select in these drop-down menus? If you guys are not familiar with this program, can you recommend me another one, so that I can tune my guitar to C.
Any help will be appreciated. Thank you!

commandante said:
First, I know I have to get a new set of strings and I think 11s. So how to ask for them in the shop? Should I just walk in and say I want a new set of strings, 11s? :)
11s should be fine for C, I used 10s for about a year in C# and they were ok (I just made the move to 11s myself, and I wish I'd done it sooner now ;)). You should just be able to ask for a pack of 11s in the shop, if they want to know the range (they may have many different packs), then try 11-48. If you want to be armed to cover all possible questions, then the strings I use are: 11, 14, 18, 28, 38, 48. So, you have 3 options there, but asking for 11s should be enough info for them ;)

commandante said:
C,F,A#,D#,G,C(btw which c is 6th string) now these should be the notes.
if you're asking which string becomes what, it's like this:
E (bass) = C, A = F, D = A#, G = D#, B = G, E (high) = C
commandante said: