What would you reccomend?

FreeBonger

Lost in my MIND
Jan 13, 2008
Im new to metal... I have none really but i started listening to my friend's a lot and really like it, but i dunno any good bands.
The only metal i have is some Lamb of God and some Chimaira... so what else would you reccomend? Im looking for stuff more along the lines of the Chimaira but i dont really know, so im open to whatever. Thanks :Smokin: :zombie:

Try Hypocrisy possibly "The Arrival". Their not the most underground band but you should probably ease into metal instead of trying to go straight to the more obscure stuff.

EDIT: spell check

Spiral Architect "A Skeptic's Universe"
Spawn of Possession "Noctambalant"
Slayer "South of Heaven"
The Faceless "Akeldema"
Atheist "Unquestionable Presence"
Megadeth "Rust in Peace"
Emperor "In the Nightside Eclipse"

Just a few for starters that I like... Not what you're asking for really though...

If you like Lamb of God then Pantera are who they kinda of copy off of.

My personal favorite off the cd is King of Terrors. The title track is up there also though.

I agree with the Hypocrisy recommendation. good gateway album. "Abducted" is good too.

what you said you already like is generally referred to as "metalcore" (and not fondly at all) and is rather similar to melodic death metal (which Hypocrisy is)

I'd also suggest these:

Ensiferum - Ensiferum
Mithotyn - Gathered Around the Oaken Table
Amon Amarth - Versus the World
Amorphis - Tales From the Thousand Lakes
Dark Tranquillity - Damage Done
In Flames - Lunar Strain
In Flames - The Jester Race
Insomnium - Since the Day It All Came Down

I reccomend you check out Despised Icon (a great deathcore band) and Pantera (a big influence on Chimaira). For Pantera I reccomend any of their last 3 albums -- Far Beyond Driven, The Great Southern Trendkill, and Reinventing The Steel. Those are their heavier albums more in vein with Chimaira's style.