Anyone feel like some March Metal Madness?

metalprof

Ken Luther
Mar 11, 2005
Valparaiso, IN
faculty.valpo.edu
The 2008 edition of PM:X2 March Metal Madness will begin soon!

For those of you who don't know what this is, it's a stupid annual voting contest set up to coincide with the NCAA Basketball Tournament. We start with 64 entrants (32 pairings) then by voting whittle it down to 32, 16, 8, 4, 2, and finally our champion. I wanted to make sure to invite my friends from this forum to participate as well! (This is not to be confused with the Metal Madness on the Royal Carnage forum ... I've been doing this other one on the PM:X board for at least 5 years.)

In several past years, the competition was always between bands. Last year, I mixed it up a bit to make it a bracket of 64 vocalists. This year, it's a bracket of 64 metal ALBUMS. I drew up a field of (I hope) famous albums representative of most subgenres (prog, power, death, thrash, black, doom, traditional). The list was put into random order and pairings for the brackets taken in that random order.

The voting will take place on line, via surveymonkey.com. Last year was the first year I used an on-line survey engine and learned that there are doofuses out there who will try to ruin a fun thing by voting multiple times. So this year, I'm asking that if you want to participate in the voting, please send me an e-mail at the address below and provide your e-mail address that I can put on a mailing list. From what I can tell, I can have up to 100 responses to each survey in the free basic version of surveymonkey.com that I signed up for, so the first 100 people to respond get on the list, and I'll use that list to send around links to the survey pages. I don't think 100 people have ever voted in any year, so I don't think this will be a problem.