Cubase Slip Editing Method

I've never used slip editing before, I usually will just manually adjust drums...Mainly because I've yet to track a drummer besides the one in my band who can track to a click. :(

I'll definitely be giving this a go on our upcoming drum tracks we start doing Tuesday.

musickey: Whatever Cubase default crossfades are :heh: Also, concerning the auto-fades, it appears that they are there even though you do not see them when you have autofades enabled.

"Note that auto fades are not indicated by the fade lines!" --» cubase manual. You dont see them but when you push play they are there.

nwright: This is still manual editing though, no automated process or anything, like AudioSnap/Beat Detective/etc. I was previously using a variation on the method Lasse posted ages ago where I'm using strip silence and using a macro to slice, then manually moving every event to the grid, bla bla. This is just soooooo much easier and really doesn't take as long as any other method I have tried yet.

How do you guys deal with multiple tempo and meter changes throughout a song? considering you have to pad/Buffer the events.

How do you guys deal with multiple tempo and meter changes throughout a song? considering you have to pad/Buffer the events.

you dont have to pad or buffer the events

but that gets into a long discussion about recording techniques and other cubase specific crap

but basically you can't slip audio past what was recorded

so, do the math... if you have a bar extra before and after the take, you'll be good, unless you need to slip by an entire bar somewhere in the performance, which is something that will never happen, even if there is an arrangement change you can just cut and MOVE instead of slip

tempo changes work just fine

but that gets into a long discussion about recording techniques and other cubase specific crap

PM'ed! :D