Dirge For November (song meaning)

sands of the seas

Of Another World
Jul 18, 2002
Melbourne, Australia
First of all i just gotta say that this is my favourite song on BWP at the moment.
Now, to the point, the meaning of the song. I'm not very good at understanding lyrics, let alone opeth lyrics so i could be way off track with this one. To me this song is about the end of Autumn.
Dirge - lament for the dead
November - end of autumn, at least in some places
This is the only theory i have thought of so far, but it seems kinda alright. Like i said, i am terrible at doing this and i don't do it very often at all. I just thought i'd give it a shot.
If anybody knows, could you please tell me if i'm right or wrong. If i'm wrong can you tell me the real meaning.

If think it's about someone who is completely lost or don't know what to do due to dark exterior influences...as a consequence of it, the person wishes to die...check out these verses:

"here is nowhere....searching home still...all are gone...grant me sleep...take me under"

they kind of express in few words what I think this song is about.

I find it to be obviously a song about suicide. I never thought of it any other way, and it makes sense.

Yeah, Mike even said it's a suicide song. "It sheds upon the floor, dripping into a pool" is about the guy's blood from whatever part of his body he chose to cut.

Originally posted by Smekermann
...How fucking hard was that to figure out? Jesus fucking Christ, some of you people need to read the lyrics before giving us your philosophical outlook on what the fucking song is about.
Woah, somebody woke up in a funny position this morning!
If you read my second post you would have seen that i said i thought that's what it was about before but i was hoping for something a little less negative! I even admitted it was stupid: "I guess it was just wishful thinking". It was a guess! An innocent guess and it DOES fit.