Do you ever feel like NOTHING goes your way???

Nate The Great

What would Nathan do?
May 10, 2002
www.ultimatemetal.com
As some of you may know, I'm a farmer. Farmers rely on weather more than ANY other factor in raising a crop. We've had 1.5 inches of moisture thus far in 2006. We should have had around 8 to get to our average of 17 for the year. Our wheat is pretty much a lost cause (harvest is in June/July), and our corn is just now coming up. Some of the corn won't come up until it rains. The lack of rain has already stunted the corn.

Of course there are a lot of things a farmer can do to preserve moisture in the soil, but at some point it HAS to rain.

This year is on track to be the dryest ever in Western Kansas. How the fuck am I supposed to make money with this kind of shit going on? Some people in my county have had this weather pattern for 6 years now. Luckily in 2004 and 2005 we had good moisture for our corn. Other than that, we've been in a sever drought for 6 years as well.

I realize most of you don't really give a shit, but a drought this severe is basically as bad or worse than most hurricanes. Plus, it goes on MUCH longer.

If you need my address to send me money, just PM me.

Thanks.:cry:

Come on out to California.
dust-bowl-3.jpg

Sucks. Would you ever move back to a place like this, or are you been there / done that?

Reign in Acai said:
I couldn't tolerate being woken up in the middle of the night to the constant pitter patter of crumbs hitting the floor.
He would live in the basement of course

JayKeeley said:
How do you connect to the web, Nate? Are you on 56K modem dial up?

What? I have DSL. Do you think I live in some movie version of a farm. We farm 8,000 acres of crops, and have cattle on 10,000 acres of pasture. This is a business that just happens to be in the middle of nowhere.