How long have you been listening to metal?

LEJ

Stargazer
Jun 3, 2001
Italy
Visit site
I know everyone here likes, loves, breathes metal.:loco:
Now I ask you: when did you listen to metal for the first time?
I've been listening to metal for ten years and my first album was '...and justice for all'.

:heh:

I actually got hooked on nin *hide* in the mid 90s, and eventually heard Cradle of Filth in 97. The first album I bought must have been a cradle album, or an Old Man's Child album, I think. Still like OMC, don't listen to Cradle much, but I've redeemed myself by being devout to Opeth.

Hallelujah! I have been saved!

I only started seriously listening back in 1991, When my Dad got Alice Cooper's Hey Stoopid. I had listened to Trash a little before that, and was listening to his Special forces Album for as long as I can remember. But Hey Stoopid caused everything else to take hold. It's all about "Dangerous Tonight" and "Hurricane Years". They still kick my ass!

Probably about 5 years. It was when a buddy played me "Supercharger Heaven" by White Zombie and ...ugh... "King Nothing" off of Load that made me stop and think "Hey...this heavy metal stuff can be good!". I was 14, I knew little. Since then, I've just sort of progressed in terms of taste.

Originally posted by HoserHellspawn
Probably about 5 years. It was when a buddy played me "Supercharger Heaven" by White Zombie and ...ugh... "King Nothing" off of Load that made me stop and think "Hey...this heavy metal stuff can be good!". I was 14, I knew little. Since then, I've just sort of progressed in terms of taste.

I'd hope so, King Nothing was a horrid song!! Old Metallica was excellent, however!!

I started with Alice Cooper's album "Trash" and a couple of Guns'n'Roses-songs, when I was 11 or 12. So that makes about 9 years. Pretty soon I also got into Iron Maiden (nowadays I try to avoid) and Helloween, which was a real stunner.