How long have you been listening to metal?

I've been listening to Metal for at least 18 years. The album that got me into Metal was Motley Crue's Shout At The Devil. Shortly after that I heard Iron Maiden's Piece Of Mind. My first concert was Iron Maiden on the World Slavery Tour in January of 1985. I remember it like it was yesterday.

I started listening to Metal when the black album arrived, but back then it was only Metallica and GNR.

What SERIOUSLY introduced me to the scene was when I heard "True Belief" by Paradise Lost, and I bought their album Icon shortly after... then I was hooked.

Before that I have been into both synth and hip hop ;)

I listened to hard rock since my early, early childhood days.
My older brother was into Metallica, GN'R, Megadeth, Sodom, Napalm Death etc. , but MY first metal record was W.A.S.P. - The Headless Children. It was 1990(I was only 7):p
Then I got into Metallica's Black Album, Megadeth's Rust In Peace, Def Leppard's Hysteria, Skid Row's Slave to the Grind, Iron Maiden's Fear of the Dark etc.
January 1996 changed my life forever(it was my brother again, he is 6 years older thean me) when he got Tiamat - Wildhoney and Amorphis - Tales from the 1000 lakes on the same tape. I liked it more than he did, and that was the beginning of my Gothic/black/doom/atmospheric/whatever metal search.
And the search is still rolling...........;)

It was '92, I was twelve. I really could not remember the very fisrt groups I listened but Metallica, Megadeth. At that time a Turkish Trash metal group members had a program on radio. They played Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Sepultra etc. Than radio programme was finished, I went on my way alone....