How many Opeth fans enjoy "classical" music?

soundave

Oct 13, 2005
MA
And I use the term "classical" very loosely (as in, like string quartets and symphonies, not as in the period during which Mozart composed).

My guess is that Opeth fans are probably more likely than many metal fans to like some "classical" music (more so than, say pop or rap fans to be sure). Especially those fans that enjoy opeth for the reasons I do: the musicality, the contrasting light and dark... not necessarily because it's heavy (although, I certainly enjoy that, too...)

If you don't know any good classical music (or think it might be too boring), I have a few recommendations for Opeth fans:

Bartok's string quartets (or anything else, really). Beethoven (duh). Listen to the string quartets (I generally think that string quartets are places to hear some sick musicianship, but I'm a guitarist, so I probably have preference for string sounds...). Stravinsky's Rite of Spring and Petrushka (evil clown puppet...), Holst's "Mars Bringer of War" from The Planets, Paganini's 24 Caprices.

I could go on, but I'm interested what others think.

Not so much classical, but I really enjoy soundtrack music, mainly because thats the kind of music we play. But I like listening to classical, I just don't know much by name and all. Its certainly not offensive to the ears, and quite inspirational generally.

I enjoy 'classical' music and film scores...I'm not a massive fan...But I'd take 'classical' over 'pop' anyday

I love Bartok and Bach. I went through a HUGE Romantic-era opera phase not too long ago. I also dig Stravinsky, although my favorite work is actually his neoclassical opera "The Rake's Progress". Fantastic stuff.

NP: Theocracy "s/t"

Dark Lunacy - weird italian death metal with violins and other "classical" instruments, took a while to get used to but now im hooked. thats bout as classical as i get

Wounded Land said: