How would you describe Katatonia's music

seventi

Viva Lonliness!
Mar 8, 2002
The Third Place
Visit site
I'm quite new to Katatonia. Just got to myself a copy yesterday of Viva Emptiness and I must say it's really good. But when listening to it I was wondering how I would describe that kind of music to someone if that person would ask me. I am not much of chategorizing bands, but I'm still curious how you would desribe it.

Any ideas?

just say its good. well very good, no brilliant.

um, you might wanna check some of their influences, i know jeff buckley and that guy they done a cover of on the tonights music single...will oldham or something.

i'd put some of their stuff under heavy rock/metal if theres such a thing, im not really bothered about what theyre classified as really, just as long as they sound good.

First of all, welcome to Katatonia forum.

You know, it is something special being a fan of Katatonia, and concerning the 'term' for describing the music they play...
Well, it's...Katatonia! You just can't call it anything else. I mean, it would be unfair just to call it 'metal', or 'dark metal' or 'heavy alterock' etc.
In Viva Emptiness (and Katatonia albums in general), you can hear so many influences: Slowdive, Pink Floyd, Jeff Buckley, the Cure, Nick Drake, Radiohead, the great feeling of 70s, the Great Doom of the 90s(PL, Anathema, MDB), Portishead, great guitar sound in general...

the same is with bands such as Opeth, Tool, Anathema, the Gathering.
How WOULD you call them? Exactly like they are - Opeth, Tool, Anathema, the Gathering.

Hope I didn't disappoint you, but that's the way it is(or at least the way I see/hear things).

cheerz

First of all just wan't to say that Viva Emptines is so fucking awesome! Much better for every listen I give it. Have almost digested the whole album.