I need head. (Amp head, need help)

so metal, would u recommend that i just get a XXX combo with/out the pedal or go for a 5150 combo with od pedal?

FretsAflame said:
Not atm, but I've heard that a tube screamer pre sounds fucking amazing. Sounds like metalkingdom really knows his stuff though so he'd probably be able to give you a better answer.

I use one when we're recording. Live, well, one of these days I'll integrate it - I have all the parts so I can switch it in/out via midi, I just haven't had time to wire it all up.

However, careful preamp tube choices can give similar results...

^yea actually, this amp would be my first tube ever, so im totally new to the whole concept. what preamp tubes would give a good sound for mid-scooped, bass and treble heavy sound (think CoB, Norther). although not too much because i can still tweak with eq, i think i heard the 6l6's are good for that but i may be WAY off... any suggestions?

6L6s are poweramp tubes, and, yes, those would be the best choice for that - they have a natural "scoop" to them. For preamp tubes (12AX7s), it depends - a lot of people the like Electro-Harmonix, or the JJ "high gain" set from Eurotubes. I've been using a bunch of different Mesa "Russian 2" (Sovtek) tubes, but I may well try one of the Groove Tubes Mullard reissues in my first gain stage, since they're supposedly the shiznit.

so let me just get this straight for once and for all- the preamp is what gives gain/tone/sound and the poweramp is what gives volume? is that correct?

also, are the 12AX7s Electro-Harmonix? which preamp tubes would you recommend for the given sound?

I laugh when ever I hear people bash EMG pickups, I switched from Duncans to EMG actives and it sounds 10000000 times better. Jeff and Steve both used EMG on this godless endeavor and it sounds excellent.