Is Opeth a death metal band?

museum educator

New Metal Member
Nov 20, 2003
Stockholm, Sweden
Visit site
I work as a museum educator and meet young people in one of our exhibitions, which concerns the subject of death. Since I don´t know much about death metal, I would like to know how you would describe Opeth. Is it a death metal band? How would you describe death metal?

Metal genre's are hard to work with today. So much metal now incorporates influence from across the metal spectrum. To call Opeth simply a Death Metal band would not do them justice. They are more than that . Not in the way that they are better or worse than death metal, they just should not be restricted to that title and all the elements that are ascociated with that genre. I would say Opeth are not Death Metal, but have incorporated some elements of that genre in their music, vocals particularly.

I agree with Sympozium. I would call them Progressive Death Metal maybe, but not simply Death Metal. Allthough Mikael (the singer/guitarist)does refer to themselves as being a Death Metal band.

If you are looking for good examples of Death Metal, I think Obituary, Grave, Dismember, Deicide, old Entombed, Morbid Angel and Bloodbath (also a band with Mikael on vocals) are representative of this genre. Off course there are a lot more.

I would describe Death Metal as being a very heavy kind of metal with vocals that would come out of a rotting corpse if it was able to sing or speak.

It has lots of agression (musically) and tempo changes, lots of death related lyrics.

I would consider them exactly what they want to be considered, Death Metal. Mikael has mentioned that they are a death metal band countless times, and it would be unfair to cast another defintion of musical genre onto Opeth. It creates expectation from not only the listener, but also from Opeth. There is no denying Opeth has a very unique sound, but that sound encompasses Mikael's definition of their music.

Opeth = Death Metal