My thoughts on "The Accolade"...

ArroyoMusic

New Metal Member
Jan 9, 2007
Hey guys. I posted a blog on my MySpace that I would like to share. I am new to Symphony X, but I am now a huge fan. The blog is about my personal thoughts on the song "The Accolade" and my interpretation of the lyrics therein. Please feel free to add me as a friend if you would like. Oh yeah, i added some words to the lyrics to make it more of a poem than song lyrics. This is so those that don't listen or appreciate prog-metal can enjoy the depth of emotions these lyrics convey. I hope this is cool. Here is the link: http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=146462833&blogID=471032627

-Arroyo-

Welcome to Symphony X the Accolade is one powerful song and they have many

Actually the lyrics are quite poetic as they were written and make for excellent spoken word. To me its a form of blasphomy to rewrite someone words. The way you did it changes some meaning as well

one of the gr8st song of the century...awesome lyric and superb composition with heart touching guitar solo :)

Actually the lyrics are quite poetic as they were written and make for excellent spoken word. To me its a form of blasphomy to rewrite someone words. The way you did it changes some meaning as well

100% agreed.

Ok, this is just me, but I feel like so many people seem to be misinterpreting the Accolade lyrics. I have always felt and still feel that the last verse, ie

"To see the light, he spent his life to understand
The sword he once held tight, falls forever from his hands"

means that the knight dies on his quest.

I also prefer my interpration to those that suggest that the verse means something else, cause to me... It doesn't. Great lyrics anyway.