upgrading to protools???

doclegion

Contagious Destruction
Dec 31, 2006
Right now i use 2 firepods with sx3. I been using this for about 6 years and i wanna upgrade..
So....i seen protools 9.. now im not a huge protools guy but i am curious and its now compatible with my firepod interfaces :D thats the shit i been waiting for!!! Protools hardware is costly so my draw back was having to grab a new expensive interface and i didnt wanna do that...

Anyway should i do the protools upgrade or stick with maybe a newer version of cubase??? Im gonna need a new computer either way

it's more like a downgrade IMO. especially if you are really used to cubase.

get cubase 5 or 6 and worry about it no more.

[UEAK]Clowd;9817995 said:
it's more like a downgrade IMO. especially if you are really used to cubase.

get cubase 5 or 6 and worry about it no more.

mmmmmmmmmmm
no

DO it

Pro Tools 9 kicks ass.

I have had few issues though, like random crashes with few plugins and random elastic audio bugs. Elastic audio x-form sometimes loses track of the rendered files or it won't render new quantisized region correctly and it gets stuck. Those situations just fuck my project sessions (cause it everytime tries to find the incomplete rendered files or smthing?!?!) and the only solution is to create a new project file and NOT import the fucked up track.

Also I feel like my midicontroller (BCF2000) has had crashing issues with PT9. When I don't seriously need it in a session, I always unplug it.

Yes, PT9 is seriously awesome DAW, but I feel like it has pretty many bugs or then all my problems are just gear related.

It's neither an upgrade or a downgrade, you're simply moving sideways and whether you like it or not depends completely on your personal preference and workflow. PT compatibility is good to have though, and since the license for PT9 isn't that expensive, you could just buy it and see if you like it.

I've been running PT9 nearlöy flawlessly since last December here.