estimated cost on starting up with protools hd 1

joeymusicguy

Sep 21, 2006
indiana
www.myspace.com
does anyone have an estimated cost on everything you'd need to buy a protools hd 1 system?

lets assume the computer is already there, and the pre's will be purchased seperately

from what i understand, you need some sort of digidesign hardware (i/o??)
a core card (pci express)

and the software its self

i need to be able to record 16 things at once, and i need to have flexible output routing (i usually have all of my outputs already hooked up to various shit in my studio, which eliminates a need for a patchbay or unplugging/plugging stuff all the time).

im a protools newb, so i dont know how routing really works (i'd invest in the time to learn it though), but i will need to be able to have seperate headphone mixes to route throughout my house. in nuendo this is called "control room", and i have "locations" setup within it. i just choose where i want to send my mix and my click track for playback before i record.

also, anyone REALLY know the pros and cons of protools mac vs protools windows?

i bring this up because i am beginning to get really big projects that deal with bigger companies and labels, and they assume i use protools, and sometimes request protools specific things that i simply can't supply. after being professional in this business for this long, i can't believe i've survived without protools.

pm lasse about that, also man i don't think you should switch your work flow is already off the chain find away around the protools hype :) but if you have too then ah well, i think that is something that you would call sweetwater about or someone like that

Look it up on Ebay. YOu could probably get an HD 1 core system for about 2500$. Then you need some hardware like DIGIs 96k cards (one of those has 16/2 in/outs) I know peaople keeps on bashing DIGIs own hardware but its still a step up from DIGI 003.