What/who inspired you to play guitar?

KISSINGTHESHADOW

KISSINGTHESHADOW
Sep 18, 2004
ARIZONA
I thought it would be cool to hear how yall got into playing. For me it was in 2003, I was getting into the metal genre. I started listening to static-x, godsmack, disturbed, cradle of filth ect...one morning i woke up and turned my tv to a cable metal channel and heard Sixpounder. That day I bought fallow the reaper and hatebreeder. I never had an interest or payed much attention to guitarnuntil I heard the sixpounder solos. Still my favorite song to this day. A week later I went and bought my first guitar and the rest is history. I know it sounds pretty trademark that I started playing cuz of alexi...but it's the truth. Jason Becker was also a big influence. I heard about him getting ALS and listened to raspberry jams and the perspective album...fuck he was a great guitarist. So what about you guys??

My school music teacher. I messed about on keyboards back then and he was playing Teenage Dirtbag in a clean tone. The moment he stepped on the distortion pedal my life changed forever, I went home that day and asked for a guitar for Christmas and I've been playing ever since.

I started playing piano when I was 5 but always wasn't really into it. if I remember right, the first time I thought about guitar playing was when I was 15 or 16 in the rehearsel place of one of my friends (he was guitarist in a local punk/rock band). Yeah, he played this normal d, e and c chords and I though wow, this sounds really cool with all this big amps and stuff. Half year later or so I bought my first accoustic guitar and then all I learned about guitar playing was self-teaching (of course, 10 years pf piano playing helps me a lot!).

Guitar has probably changed all of our lives. I know it has for me. Any time I play it's an escape from everything. The greatest thing in my life.