Winter Soundtrack

Nov 25, 2003
Outdoors
Visit site
I'm fairly new to Borknagar....but playing Archaic Course while watching it snow just seems....perfect! Anyone else share this feeling or have a certain place they like hearing a specific Borknagar album?

Yeah, Archaic Course is a good soundtrack to winter, but I would have to say that The Olden Domain is better. The guitars seem so much colder, and a lot of the lyrics have a wintry theme to them; such as "Winter thrice, river and rock, a new kingdom rise, I close my eyes," or "It's time to wake, wipe the ice from your eyes." Great, great wintry stuff. I also think Agalloch's "The Mantle" and Arcturus' "Aspera Hiems Symphonia" also make good winter soundtracks.

The Scourge said:
Yeah, Archaic Course is a good soundtrack to winter, but I would have to say that The Olden Domain is better. The guitars seem so much colder, and a lot of the lyrics have a wintry theme to them; such as "Winter thrice, river and rock, a new kingdom rise, I close my eyes," or "It's time to wake, wipe the ice from your eyes." Great, great wintry stuff. I also think Agalloch's "The Mantle" and Arcturus' "Aspera Hiems Symphonia" also make good winter soundtracks.
I will soon have The Olden Domain....I can't wait to hear it!

Yeah, definitely. There's nothing quite like throwing on some Borknagar during the rain or snow. Another great album for those dark, rainy days: Dissection- Storm of the Light's Bane.

Har, indeed I think the Olden Domain makes like a perfect winter soundtrack. Archaic Course reminds me more of some...uhm..tropical swimming paradise (with like, really nice and clear water and helluva lot of shells 'n stuff, wait, no shells in tropical swimming paradises are there? Well fuck it, then it just reminds me of swimming in like, real tropical waters), think it's the cover that does it :cool: .

Ethnobotanikkk said: