writing thread

Astrum

Psion
Aug 14, 2006
Boston, MA
So I am a writer, if anything other than a musician. I enjoy writing poetry and have a decent folder filled with poems I have written, but I am much more keen with writing short stories, novellas (or something roughly the length of a novella) and screenplays. I've been completely stumped lately though, I tend to stare at the screen for hours and hours to turn out one sentence, then erase it. Usually once I grab ahold of something I like I'll run about fifteen or so pages with it then leave it unfinished. I have an alright amount of finished works, though.

So I decided to break my recent writers block I wanted to write something fun, generic, and easy. Something a bored 30 year old would read or a teenager of normal intelligence. Something not too deep, something with an actively moving plot, some violence. Something very basic.

So I've been considering three lame ideas: A suburban man living in the nearest suburbs to chicago, who is running errands in a shopping mall when some rival country to be determined unleashes nuclear holocaust upon the United States. He is one of few survivors in a nearly destroyed country. Sort of a The Stand feel.

number two: Set in Boston, crime drama involving Irish mobsters, crooked cops and sleazy italians. Violent, simple, generic.

number three: Some random man with a somewhat interesting past and a somewhat interesting occupation that leads him to some reigon of northwest europe and falls in with some sort of murder/ritual/conspiriacy/something. Lots of imagery and characters. I havent thought much about this one but it was inspired by the opening track to Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk. eerie.

So yeah, which one do you think I should go with?

and also, as the main focus of this thread, who here writes? discuss the general topic and feel free to throw up ideas for anyone, and post any works or links to works.

I would do some sort of fantasy/horror epic.