About Progressive music...

Krondor

Jan 16, 2008
Finland
It's just that nowdays everyting is "prog" or "progmetal" as long as there's time signatures other than 4/4 or something... And it annoys me. I personally love these 70's progressive rock bands like Genesis, ELP, Yes, Caravan, Camel, King Crimson etc. but if I say I like progressive music, it gives kind of a wrong impression nowdays.

I personally hate genres ,especially when I need to define genres, but of course I know that they are only guidelines and stuff.

So what element/s make/s music progressive in your opinion?

50 year old guys, flutes, long guitar solos and of course mellotrons. Those four things basically sum up my entire CD collection. The only thing I want out of music is not to be bored. I get bored very easily with simple 4/4, three chord music.

I would, however, like to state for the record that I am not a progsnob only a prognerd. I have noticed, in more alarming extreme cases, that many fans of the genre are elitist jerks. Example:

http://www.progarchives.com/forum/
http://www.progressiveears.com/default.asp?bhcp=1

Me. No I didn't. But seriously, the difference between "prog" and "progressive" (while at one time they were the same) is that prog is now a genre to be defined, and progressive is a band describing adjective. Prog has odd signatures, needless and elaborate solos, long instrumental breaks, disjointed rhythm, usually has a concept, and often sounds a lot like other prog bands.

Progressive simply implies that the band is doing something pioneering in their music, lyrics, concept, or synthesis. This doesn't necessarily need to be technical skill or show-offery, but I suppose you could include a few of those, if they are exceptionally notable and unique.

Progressive in other genres than metal/rock/pop/real music (like trance) means the song builds up (as it progresses) with layers upon layers of melody/instruments.

However Ken already said everything relevant :p